Willllwynbedw

By willllwynbedw

It is Friday again...at last!

After many weeks of missing the jazz and the crack at Burgundy's, it was great to be back there last night. And to see old friends and real stalwarts of jazz - Pete Major (keyboards), Dave Lee (reeds), Frances Lee (vocals) and Peter Boocock (drums) and Laurence Canty (base guitar).

I have been looking forward to trying to do a good render of Pete Major(far left) for some time and I am quite pleased with this, although maybe he is not as his face does go into strange expressions when his fingers are dancing across the keyboard.

And I have always found vocalists a challenge as they are rarely in the same position for any length of time! So with Frances last night I focussed on a more impressionistic approach and I think this is the best I have sketched of her!

Dave (middle) is always a joy to paint, with those specs and a face full of character.

You can see both the Lees here

As it was my birthday they did play/sing the "usual" and it was lovely as Frances took the lead and of course I could not resist giving her a big hug afterwards - what a lovely rich voice

And the Burgundy raffle has moved into summer season with not only jazz CDs but also garden vegetables. My cucumber became the last prize to be picked but I did win Gwen's beetroot and courgettes - yes it all happens at Burgundy's - great jazz, good company, real ale and vegetables - what more is there........oh yes sketching!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.