The Daily Mynci

By Funkymynci

Pixieland Doo'cot

This sweet little scene presents itself on the approach to Elcho Castle near Perth. Despite some serious nagging from my daughter who was "sooo thirsty" I stopped on the way out to snap this one with my weIRd camera, and pleased I did.

Elcho Castle is an absolute gem by the way. 5 miles off the beaten track by the banks of the Tay and you have to drive through a farmyard to get to it. It's got an unusual layout with some challenging tower steps and airy roof terraces. I'm glad we had a torch with us! And the orchard is amazing .. must be about 20 varieties of apple, pear and plum trees loaded with fruit about 2 or 3 weeks off ripe.

We went to Huntingstower Castle on the other side of Perth after feeding our faces in Tesco. It's not quite Elcho, but impressive all the same.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.