ztuzzer

By ztuzzer

Minature Life

I took my niece, Lauren, out for a day to one of my most cherished childhood locations; Beaconscott Model Village. The place hasn't changed in the 10+ years since I last went, apart from the fact everything seemed that so much more petite! It's mind boggling how much your perception of things differ depending on your size and age. I remember the walk from the car park, the ride on the (what now seems miniature) train and entrance to the park being so much larger than myself, so much more intimidating, when I went with my mother and friends back in what must have been the early naughties. Now, being 22 and fully developed, everything seemed so much more regular and, admittedly, unexciting. Before, I seemed to relate and get involved with the models, seeing every intricate detail, being more-or-less the same height as them. My now taller stance, rendered the models all that much more distant, but still ever so intriguing and beautiful, especially as you relived old memories through new eyes. I couldn't help but wonder how my Niece perceived the experience, being of a relative age of my first time there (though she has undeniably inherited the tall gene a lot earlier than I did). I like this photo as it kinda captures the models from a relative perspective of someone within the model itself, a whole other perspective to ponder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.