WhiskyFoxtrot

By WhiskyFoxtrot

Finding the Way Home

This was a long and enjoyable day. We were up early to pack, visited my Cousin N for the last time and then off to the ferry terminal.

We tried to get on a fully booked ferry - why bother, right? Everyone kept saying that they always squeeze on a few more cars so it was worth trying to be on standby. So we waited on standby for over two hours to find that they did, indeed, squeeze on a few more cars - three more cars. We were fourth in the queue. It really didn't bother me because we had a booking for a later ferry from another port that would bring us back to Skye rather than much closer Oban. The guy in car number five was not so calm. They didn't have a booking for either ferry but I'm pleased to report they did make it on the later crossing. We played tag on the road all the way from Uig to well past Stirling.

So, I drove back up the island chain to get the later ferry. I had booked us accommodation in Skye just in case, but the closer we got to the ferry, the more I just wanted to get home. When we got off at Uig, we decided to drive straight through to home. We made it back just after 1 am. Bed looked very good.

I had a few shots from both ferry terminals, a shot or two of Skye, but when we passed Eilean Donan, I knew I had to stop. It's not the best shot of the island castle but it will have to do. I like that it looks kind of spooky rather than postcard perfect.

Home again, home again
Saturday morn
He never gets up before noon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.