Stace91

By Stace91

Boer War Memorial

Today was a gorgeous day in Sydney so I decided to venture toward the park in Parramatta.

As it was very sunny and at the moment I am not allowed to be exposed to much sunlight while on this medication for my face I have to walk around with an umbrella up. The looks you get from people when you walk around in the heat with an umbrella... I have portable shade people!

Anyway, this monument is The Boer War Memorial. The Boer War Memorial was erected in 1904 and was named Soldiers Memorial when it was built as it was put up before the first and second world wars.
A

The cannon on top of the memorial is one of six nine-pounder field guns acquired by New South Wales in 1856 intended to be part of the defence of Port Jackson.

The four Doric columns and the entablature blocks are from the Parramatta Courthouse built by Mortimer Lewis in 1837. The broken pillar in the centre of the memorial signifies "life broken short" to remember the lives lost in the War.

Behind where I was standing is a cannon which was intended to be used as part of the defence in the Port Jackson area in the 1850's.

This is one of my fav shots from today. I love how the suns rays shine over the broken pillar and I hope you enjoy this one as well.

Thank you for all of the lovely comments and stars for The BrickPit much appreciated.


EDIT: Usually I write this up and copy it over from notes or word depending on what I am using phone or computer.

My afternoon was not as great as my morning, I am currently in the hospital waiting room as my grandma has been admitted. We are waiting to hear what has happened and see what her test results say. It is hard to sit when you don't know what is going on. Hopefully we will find out soon!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.