Stace91

By Stace91

Message Stick

Thank you for the stars and comments on yesterday's memorial blip, as always I appreciate you all stopping by to check out my journal. :-)

Today I spent most of the day at the hospital with my nan, she is doing better today even cracking some jokes and giving a bit of cheek - to me a good sign of recovery :-)

The pathologist gave us great news saying she expects to see improvement from my nan in the next few days which is excellent!! Everything will take time though which can only be expected.

During our visit my brother Danny and I went outside for some fresh air. When we were standing outside having a chat I noticed this over some stairs and in usual Stacy fashion I had to investigate.

This is a "Message Stick". It was created from the wood of a dogwattle tree, is 8ft tall and 10 inches in diameter, it is the work of Duan Pittman a local indigenous artist.

At the base of the stick is a freshwater eel which is the totem for the burramattagal (burra- eel, matta- creek, gal- people), the eel welcomes visitors onto his land.

The visitors are represented by various animals such as kangaroos, goannas, saltwater and freshwater fish.

At the top of the stick is the red-belly black snake also called Nyardi. The Nyardi is the totem for the Aborigonal Durak Nation and is the protector of all that visit his land.

Having something like this at a hospital was refreshing, a message of protection and a warm welcome.

I hope you all had a great Thursday and I apologise in advance if I am not as quick to reply to comments the next few days, but I promise I will get back to you shortly.

Oh and do me a favour... Sometime during the day, even if it is just before you go to bed, tell someone you care about how they make you feel :-)

Be safe and take care

Stacy xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.