Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Bargain of the Day...

Didn’t manage all of Top of the Lake last night - so don’t tell me what happens. It is a bit crazy, though…

The back is not quite so sore today, but I won’t be playing tennis any time this week. Or even any table tennis… I must say - I don’t anticipate a good sneeze now with quite the same enthusiasm.

A bit of a lazy day, then a wander into town to see what was going on in the Royal Mile. Yes. Plenty of the usual daft folk. We walked back through by the Purple Cow and had a burger and a sit down. I was at a table with three young, English, very middle class gels, and I was able to sit and fiddle with my camera - they were oblivious to my presence - and listen in to their inane chit chat for ages, while JR went to purchase the food.

‘I wish I had a talent, like, I wish I could paint or sing.’

‘You can, like, cook. That’s a talent.’

‘Yah. I do dinner parties, like, for ten people, literally all the time- mummy gets me to do them. But that’s not, like, a talent.’


‘You can ride.’

‘Yah. But, that’s not, like, a talent.’

‘You can make your horse, like, dance.’
( I presume she means dressage, like.)‘ How do you kick the horse and make them, like, lift a leg?’

‘Training, like.’

‘I’ve got, like, literally, like, £1500 left. I spent it all, like, going to Thailand, like, twice this summer.’


JR came back with the burgers a wee bit too soon. I was enjoying the entertainment.

I used my flip out screen, and tried lots of walking along shots, just pressing the shutter with the camera down low. I rather liked this dapper chap walking through the Meadows, taken, like, as we literally, like, walked past him.

We got the bargain of the day. We bought the Sunday paper and got:

a Tunnock’s Wafer,
a packet of coffee,
a DVD of 'The Best of European Football', (Golden Moments 1)
a packet of ‘delicious creamy cappuccino sweets’,
a Concise History of Scottish Words and Phrases,
A Scotsman calendar (2013)
all in a handy linen bag with 'I ♥ Edinburgh' on it.

Can’t say better than that for £2.10!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.