A view from Herttoniemi Hiihtomäki

After work my husband and our dogs were waiting for me in Herttoniemi and we took the dogs for their evening walk over there. This is a view from Herttoniemi Hiihtomäki over Viikki to Kalasatama. Another one against the sunlight on purpose.

Kalasatama (the skyline in the picture) is a new residential and business district on the waterfront. They are building it up to 2030s. It will house 20000 residents.

Viikki has 10000 residents. University of Helsinki THE VIIKKI CAMPUS is a recognised centre for life sciences. It is also known for its green fields and proximity to nature.

Behind the trees is a proper birding site. I've learned that Viikki is particularly good for watching waterbirds and warblers. I've walked there a few times, but I'm not a "birder"(?).

Have a great start for your week!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.