Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Evolution by design

This is the anatomy of a skate, part of an exhibit on evolution by anatomical design. Basically, how to see evolution working in similarly structured species and families through morphology. A bizarre other worldly piece of natural art.

There were many choices to choose from today for a blip and in the end it was a hard toss up between this, an elegant seahorse, and the classic skyline of the Golden Gate bridge draped across San Francisco Bay. Exploring the city and spending most of the afternoon at the new California Academy of Sciences. It was packed, and that is a good thing. Many people learning and discovering. From the undersea oddities of the California Coastline, to climate change, evolution, all the way up to the living green roof that thrives above the heads of visitors wandering the halls below, my personal favorite. I was even interviewed by a Japanese film crew and made it on television. Talking about climate change and the role of engagement. I think I did a pretty good job and even managed to through out the credentials and bring it all full circle in a short film clip. You never know what the day may bring...

Wandering and exploring by foot. My first and last full day in San Francisco, a brief stop. In light of a missed connection here, cramped space at my friends place, and the ridiculous costs and inconvenience of simply A to B public transportation from San Fran to Portland I'm jumping in on a ride share with some random folk 650 miles north tomorrow and saying farewell to San Francisco. There is much to see here and I see the appeal, though it didn't quite live up to the hype. Another big city, lots of traffic, and too many hipsters for my taste. As one of the local bus drivers said it comparing to New York, just not as 'real'. Maybe, I only just sliced off a glimpse. Whatever the case I long for wide open space again after only a few days and the Pacific Northwest awaits.

Onward to Oregon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.