WillPSadler

By WillPSadler

View of Old Kampala

I could never have imagined how loud, busy and mad Old Kampala would be. The first time I ventured into the capital I got dropped off here, spent 2 hours walking round in circles, before declaring myself completely lost. At the bottom of the hill the New and Old taxi parks can be found, enclosing hundreds of old minibus style taxis. The shear volume of vehicles results in the surrounding roads being at a complete standstill for most of the day. Therefore Boda-bodas (motorcycle taxis) resort to weaving in and out of vehicles, driving up the wrong side of the road, and more than occasionally using the footpaths to get through this congested area.

I have already decided that the greatest risk to my health is not the commonly considered; tropical diseases, being kidnapped etc but by being run over. I was told by a local today that there are on average 5 deaths per day in the capital' directly caused by Boda-bodas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.