All the people.... so many people

Parklife!

I am so fortunate to have a gang of much younger 'friends' who, if I act as chauffeur, are happy to let me tag along for a grand evening out.

To be fair, I did have my own invite to one of the parties we attended, so that was my passage of right to the other venues.

The evening started early in The Harpenden Arms to watch the footy:
Liverpool (boo) v Aston Villa (Yay!)
And Watching people... watching football (The image)
When we shouted "Come on Villa" at one point, all heads turned and responded in a questioning way "Villa?"

It was a disappointing result.

From here my Claret and Blue clad companions and I drove through torrential rain to a BBQ party some ten miles to the North West, where we stuffed our faces, recognised other faces and one of us did her best to get off her face.

There was a remarkably good band playing and we did a fair bit of dancing, before heading off to the second - a 21st - party in a dismal community centre hall some 15 miles to the south east (with my official invite in my hand) .

Don't you just hate it when there is a good disco happening and nobody is dancing? We soon had that hall, and the party poopers within bouncing. (It would have been a shame for the birthday girl if we hadn't)

From there we gathered momentum and numbers and headed into Snorbens
(St Albans for those not local) It was a toss up between O'Neill's - with an excellent band, and The Farmer's Boy - quirky

We managed both, sequentially.

Now here's the weird thing.

Parklife by Blur featured at each of the 4 venues, and it sums up the evening perfectly.

All the people, so many people,
They all go hand in hand.... through their parklife, and it was lovely being part of it.


Bed at 3? That hasn't happened in a while.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.