Pied Piper Peter Parker

Today Peter came to visit before he heads back to China next week. He's not been to the house since we lived here so it was nice to show someone new what is loved about being here.
Once very generous present exchanges were complete, we headed out with the pooch for a walk up through the Forest of Death & down to the reservoir before home.
Granted, he is a school teacher, but Pete was doing a fine impression of the Pied Piper, holding every child's hand & walking & chatting with them at some point.
There was a fair amount of mud, wet dog splashes, near slips, stone skimming, & canine swimming.
It was a lovely fun afternoon which was followed by a treat tea out trip.
Unfortunately for me the evening was tarnished by the way Alex spoke to following an accidental split drink. I couldn't have been more mortified & embarrassed -particularly given the presence of a guest. I felt like a scolded child, not his partner or even the older woman I am.
It's one thing to feel humiliated behind closed doors, but when you're out in public with a "friend"....?!
It really upset me & cast a shadow over what had been a lovely day- even more so when I received another spiteful jibe after, despite his absence, I'd made Pete [& not him] a drink.

I really can't continue this way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.