SkiMe

By SkiMe

Legs at 300

I had to modify my title seeing now that I made a blipstone!

Back in front of Villa Borromeo. This time a bit further back to get the whole front of the building and grounds.

Well, I have made a full comparison now between bikes and wheels. I even stole the little electronic kitchen scale from home to weigh each wheel. The Colnago today with the Campy's was rolling fast and felt great!

Verdicts and opinions: (skip if you're not interested in biking stuff!)

1) Campy's are the lightest and very smooth rolling, quick out of the saddle and fastest to accelerate. Great for zero to light wind and roll like on train rails... though you can really feel the cross breezes and big trucks.

2) Fulcrum Race Zero's are very close in weight! as in VERY close. The Campy's don't have the original hubs and a heavy freewheel... so maybe the difference would have been greater. Fulcrums are very smooth rolling with a 700x23C tire and I think my favorite for all around riding including big descents and the possibility to repair a flat when on the road.

3) Selcof's are the heaviest, slowest and have a noisy spoke twilling sound - but we are talking about little details. These are nice rolling wheels too. Could maybe make my training wheel of choice.

Colnago - fits me the best. Super stiff frame and great climber. The straight forks make it a bit nervous in the corners, but fine when riden with confidence. Seems to accelerate over small bumps in the road - really! My choice for big climbs.

Pinarello - a bit big for me, but that was my choice. Amazing peddle feeling with the assymetric frame and Zipp cranks. Dampened a bit in the vertical plane, super rigid laterally. This bike loves to turn - amazingly quick and stable. My choice for fast descents.

So which one do I take to the Dolomites this weekend to attempt the Sella Ronda??? Jury is still out.... Let's hope for good weather in any case!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.