Strawberry Fields Forever ?

Let me take you down 'cos I'm going to
Strawberry Fields.... (Beatles)
Or so I thought, but they had GONE !
I went to the Impington, Pick Your Own, Fruit Farm today, intending to buy some nice seasonal fruit. I hadn't visited for a few years but knew it was still there and thought the grandchildren would enjoy it. This was the scene that greeted me. The little hut was still there where we would get our pickings weighed and then pay, but instead of the rows of strawberries and raspberries there were corn fields and grass. The warehouses were there where the fruit was being boxed up and loaded onto a lorry and I asked in the office where I could buy some fruit. I was told that I had to go to their village shop now. One reason they don't let the public pick any more is because they were losing so much. Some people would bring a huge family of children, and grown ups, lay down a blanket and have a picnic from the bushes. They would then walk away without paying!! The fruit and orchards are now fenced off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.