Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Another birthday

This is the birthday week in our family - Adam's on Tuesday and mine today! A real birthday, not just a blip-birthday, the kind where you notice more wrinkles and grey hair when you look in the mirror - but also the kind where you get spoilt!

My day started with Gavin taking us out for a delicious breakfast before he dashed off to work. The boys did not even complain about having to wake up early which was a really generous of them. Scrummy eggs benedict and good coffee!

I was really spoilt with beautiful cards and a new lens. I have been wanting to get a fish-eye lens for some time and last month I noticed that
Grays of Westminster had a really good second hand one - as it is not a lens you use every day I did not want to spend too much money on it, so felt very comfortable with a second hand one. Then we went on holiday and I forgot about the lens - but unbeknown to me, Gavin very kindly arranged to buy it for me. There is only one Nikon fish eye lens for full frame cameras, the Nikkor 16mm f2.8D.

After breakfast a friend popped in for coffee and a catch up. But after lunch I could not wait to go out and test drive the new lens - I dropped Adam off at the driving range and I headed off to the woods with Murdoch and had fun taking some photos. It really is a fun lens, and being so small and light it will be easy to keep in the camera bag for when the opportunity arises to take appropriate fish eye shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.