Certainly Uncertain

By shyBadger

Hopkinton State Fair

I've always loved agricultural fairs, but I have found that the one I went to as a kid has changed much too much to the 'carnival' side of things. This year, Mr. Badger and I headed north to Contoocook, NH and visited the Hopkinton State Fair. It was a blast - tons of animals to see, we even got to see the dairy we get our milk from! They were very happy cows :) We watched a relay race with horses, oxen pull, and dock diving dogs. There is a demolition derby at night, but we had to leave before that. While we were watching the dock diving, it started to POUR out! I had mentioned that I wanted a 'cowboy' hat and Mr. Badger lead us to a stall that was selling some - getting soaked in the process. He bought me a cowboy hat and I encouraged him to get the top hat you can see him wearing in today's blip. Fine choice sir, fine choice!
And seriously, as I was watching some girls ride their horses around to warm them up, I got all choked up and teary remembering how much I loved to ride when I was a teenager. I used to have to pay for my own lessons, but it was so worth it! I truly hope I can take it up again some day, but it seems doubtful. At least I got to sit on the sidelines and watch that beautiful partnership from afar. I am positive we will go back next year!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.