Albatext

By Telthecelt

Sandals View

Mrs.T was on a teachers' course at Chatelherault ("Shat-ler-oh") near Hamilton so having dropped her I was left to my own devices for the day. I could hardly drag myself away since it it such a picturesque place with great views.
The building (an elaborate hunting lodge) is the major remaining part of the Duke of Hamilton's estate, the palace having shamefully had it's art sold off, the building left to go to disrepair and pulled down decades ago. Shocking loss.
The estate and hunting lodge building are now well maintained and there's a free museum of sorts (needs a serious revamp), gift shop and nice tea room. People hire it for wedding receptions and the photographs -it's that kind of place.
Any how, after photos duly taken in the beautiful morning light I took a short run to Larkhall, checked out the pet shop, did 15 or so lengths in their excellent local baths, picked up a pasta thing for lunch and went back to sit on a humpy bit of lawn with a superb view over my feet towards Hamilton and Glasgow beyond. Just a perfect day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.