Identity Parade

These fungi pop up in the rough grass at the end of the garden each year. They never grow higher than this, although the colour is sometimes darker brown. If you cut them, they seem undifferentiated inside, the colour of which is dark greyish brown/black. Scale is given by the ivy leaf I left lying nearby.

Now, although a drug originally derived from mould remains the most important one in my work, I have precious little knowledge of common mushrooms and wild fungi. But I am really interested, and would very much like to know what these are!

I know at least one of my Blipmates (she knows who she is…) will be able to shed some light, and anyone else, do feel free!

If they happen to be truffles, would someone send round the pigs? :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.