Capitol Details

One more state capitol...this one in Nashville, Tennessee.

We awoke to hot temperatures. By the time we pulled up, and parked illegally...it was pushing 90F (30C.) Humid, too. I didn't volunteer for this. (A Tennessee joke.)

This room is set up as a lounge for the members of the state senate. We waited in the hall for the governor to show up. A camera crew was set up in this room to film him in a public service announcement. He was late, so we had to leave.

Our next stop was the Opryland Hotel. I dropped off my group, and went to park. 0-20 minutes...free. Over 20 minutes...20 dollars. TWENTY DOLLARS!!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME? I left the group, and went to the Dukes of Hazard Museum. They joined me later.

I refused to watch the TV show when it was on...but Daisy Duke in those short shorts was hard to ignore. YEE-HA!

The Willie Nelson Museum was next door. Everything you could think of with Willie plastered on it. I bought a small toy guitar...went out to the bench in front of the store...got a McDonalds cup for my tip jar...and started playing.

I rattled off the Willie hits. Georgia on my Mind, All of Me, On the Road Again, Blue Eyes Cryin in the Rain. My Dad joined me for To All the Girls I've Loved Before. Amazingly enough...I/we didn't get a single tip.

We finished our afternoon at Mammoth Cave National Park...taking the Frozen Niagra tour. It was nice...and nice and dark...with no flash pictures. Also...nice and cool...maybe 60F. (15C.) Delightful.

I put quite a few pictures on my FLICKR PAGE. Cave...capitol...and a couple of comedic captures. Have a look-C.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.