Jacob's Ladder

I was early for a meeting at Scottish Government today so I had a wander and enjoyed a wee bit of sunshine. I decided to walk along and get a few shots on Regent Road. This is Jacob's Ladder, it is a winding stairway that joins Calton Road to Regent Road. Last year when I took part in Survival of the Fittest I had to run up this stairway - it's not easy! This is the view from the top looking down.

I've heard of the film Jacob's Ladder and for years I had assumed it was a tale about drugs and violence that occurred on these steps. I don't know where I got this idea - But I think I've always been a little scared of the steps because of that and haven't wanted to see the film.

I googled the film today for this blip and realise now that it has nothing to do with Edinburgh or these steps. It's actually a psychological horror about a Vietnam Veteran and his flashbacks and hallucinations that haunt him. My brain clearly put 2 and 2 together and came up with 17.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.