Global Attitude

By GlobalAttitude

Working in the Coal Mine

Today was better than yesterday. I managed to leave the office by 5:30 and stopped briefly on the drive home to capture this image. It's a view of the old coal mine shaft tower and headgear from the "Zeche Vereinigte Helene-Amalie" on the west side of Essen. I drive past here on the way to and from work everyday. Nearby there is a large park I've never visited but would like to explore in the Spring. I'll have to take my running shoes on a sunny day and remind myself what exercise and fresh air are.

Spent some time slicing, dicing, sautéing, and simmering in the kitchen tonight - preparing a creamy Thai tomato soup for a multicultural potluck dinner tomorrow. It's made with coconut milk, fresh ginger, and very hot peppers :) The cold rainy weather we've had makes me crave warm soup and this is an easy dish to make ahead and bring to the party.

Now I'm relaxing under a wool blanket in front of a blazing fire and listening to the wind and rain outside my window. Only 4 days ago we needed air conditioning turned on in our sweltering office. Bizarre.

And for your Tuesday entertainment, here's Devo's cover of Workin' in a Coal Mine :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.