SkiMe

By SkiMe

Two Wheeling

Rain held off today. Back on the motorcycle finally this year!!! I haven't used it all summer. (criminal! shameful!) Oh well, at least it was a good summer for bicycling.

With the fine later summer weather, I've rode into the office a few times now and finally burned off the tank of gas from last year.

Something sweet about finally getting out of town and pulling hard through the gears - pegging the rev limiter in 1st - 2nd - 3rd to burn the carbon out... massive torque and free revving are better than cocain and LSD any day. Just to say, one can get addicted to such giddiness. Then reality sinks in and I rolled off the grip. Italy isn't as lawless as it once was and I'm not as free spirited either...

Somehow in the last two years I have managed to rub the sidewalls on the rear tire all the way over pushing past the magic last centimeter. I can't remember when or how... today I did have a fine moment on a serpentine on-ramp where I was fully concentrated on my line and body geometry. No earth shattering speeds, just a nice clean line - and to my reward, a nice bit of swack from the long blade grass leaning over from the inside edge of the road. All the way up on my hands and rear view mirror. SWEET!!! I recheck the rear tire when I got to the office. Freshly crubbed and black. Not bad with the big 17" workhorse laptop and camera bags slung over the shoulders!

OK, enough blubbering. Fun times...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.