Odd Days

By odddays

How to Stuff Cats into a Small Space

Today Tucker and Tillie went to visit the vet. The adventure began like this: Tucker was asleep on the sofa next to me and it was time to load the cats up. So, I picked him up and stuffed his most unwilling self into the PTU (Prisoner Transport Unit), also known as the cat carrier. Then it was off to find Tillie. Generally, by mid-afternoon, she can be found under the bed. So, I called for the Boy. His job was to push her out from one side towards me on the other side. And, it worked. Picked her up and carried her to the PTU. Now, one cat is in and one cat is out. The goal is for both to be in. The Boy unlocks the carrier while I try to push Tillie in and keep Tucker from escaping. Tucker is pushing so hard against me he's almost gagging himself; his tongue was sticking out. No hole is big enough to get one cat in while another is escaping. They both managed to escape amid gales of laughter from the Boy, Girly and me. Back to the bedroom we go. But first we put the PTU in the bathroom -- a nice enclosed space with limited hiding places. Girly is in charge of the bathroom door. Now Tillie is smack-dab in the middle underneath the bed. Nobody has arms long enough to reach her. The Boy tried multiple pushing techniques, including trying to crawl under the bed feet first (didn't work), and, we finally catch her. Off to the bathroom she goes. Tucker, amazingly enough, lets himself be caught fairly easily. Now we have two cats in the bathroom. Shortly thereafter we have two cats in the PTU. Off to the vet we go. Now to get them out so vet can examine them. Tillie is cooperative. Tucker, not so much. It truly was the reverse of stuffing him in. I think he managed to double his girth while I tried to extract him. If he could have grabbed the door frame to keep from being pulled out, I think he would have. Of course they both cheerfully went back into the PTU after the exam. When we got home, they willing came out (probably thought they were escaping again). The part that has made me roll my eyes all evening is how they have both been in and out of the carrier multiple times since the appointment. From being stuffed in to exploring. Cats! Go figure!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.