Road Hazard

I went off in search of deer and sandhill cranes. I found neither. Zero, zilch, nada, nothing. Shut out.

I turned a country corner, and saw a blob in the road. I thought at first it was a bag of garbage...which upset me for a moment. (I don't like litterers.) Then, the "bag" moved.

It was a big ole turtle...a snapper, I think. I was snapping (ha) a few shots when a car pulled up behind me. She either had to run over my truck, or run over the giant turtle. I moved my truck, but she didn't pull around me. She got out of her car.

"I run the farm down the road. I hate to see these things in the road. I usually try to steer them back into the pond. What you doin...taking pictures?"

She didn't have her umbrella, so I got a small one out of my truck. I poked the big boy in the rear. He turned, and almost hissed at me, but ambled out of the road...back into the pond.

This turtle is one ugly animal. Dirty, scummy, prehistoric. It's also in serious need of a pedicure.

But...I'm still glad it wasn't a bag of trash. A turtle profile can be seen on my FLICKR PAGE. Waddle on over, and have a look.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.