SarahClem

By SC26

Butterfly Lion

After a day spent drowning in Excel spreadsheets, it was really nice to have Mum round for tea before going to see The Butterfly Lion at the Mercury. I didn't really know what to expect; it's based on the book written by the same man who wrote War Horse. When it started with a group of actors coming on the stage holding butterflies on sticks and bursting in to song, my heart sank. Luckily it did get better, but I wasn't completely won over. Mum really enjoyed it, but it was a bit too sentimental for me. We stayed on to the Q&A session after... why is there always one person who takes over those things, slipping in dull stories about their own life?! We were treated to a woman in the audience telling everyone about her diabetic cat. Yawn. I also found two of the actors horribly annoying; I think as I work with actors I can't tolerate that 'creative/flouncy/posh' air some of them seem to adopt.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.