Day 8: Lake Myvatn - Dalvik. And A Proposal!

This is a picture of the Northern Lights from last night. I was up til gone midnight watching the incredible display and had to force myself to get some sleep.

The day started with the best breakfast of the trip and set us up nicely for another day exploring. The Dimmuborgir lava formations were our first stop, and we could have spent hours wandering around in the sunshine. It was then on to Goddafoss; another huge and beautiful waterfall, before arriving in Akureyri. After all our time in the countryside, it felt a bit strange being in a bigger town, and we weren't blown away by it. We walked for ages to find the ice cream shop with rumoured 'best ice cream in Iceland', which I would strongly contest. We wandered back along the harbour and had some lunch, then decided to get out of there!

We drove up to Dalvik, which sounded like it may be a bit like Husavik, but was much smaller, which not much happening. By that time, we were able to go and check in to our home for the night; a Sprite Musketeer caravan. The exact same caravan I had as a child! When I was researching the trip and came across this, I knew we had to stay there. We dropped our stuff off then went in search of a local hot pot, which we couldn't find, but stumbled across a huge disused fish factory, and one of the windiest outcrops ever!

When we got back to the caravan, I thought were about to have our picnic tea, but when I turned round and G got down on one knee and proposed! I couldn't believe it! To the extent of asking if he was serious! We laughed a lot, and I eventually remembered to say yes! Despite being together for 6.5 years, I had absolutely no idea he had been planning it! We celebrated with a low alcohol beer (the only kind sold in Icelandic supermarkets), and settled in for a night listening to music and chatting in the fading light of our caravan. It was lovely. We even got another Northern Lights display, though it was much fainter tonight. It was so windy, I wonder if this could have effected them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.