Kaka (New Zealand parrot)

In Wellington (our capital city) for the weekend, I made the most of it and headed to the Zealandia sanctuary - a bird sancturary right in the city. A place I've always intended to visit but not quite got to.

What a fantastic experience! I saw (and photographed of course) many different species including a number of endangered ones. Hihi (stitchbird), Tiete (saddleback), and takahe that I'd never seen before, as well as kaka, bellbirds, tui, whiteheads, shags, kingfishers, warblers. . . the list goes on. Today's biggest frustration was that I had lent a friend my medium zoom, and not thought to bring my big zoom with me, so all photos were taken on my 15-85 lens.

I'm blipping this kaka because it let me SO close that I don't actually have to crop it.

AND I saw tuatara in the wild for the first time too.

What a marvellous day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.