Dimmingsdale

I'm a North Staffordshire girl and whenever I return there from my home in South Staffs, it brings back lovely memories of our childhood.

I went back this morning and walked in Dimmingsdale with my brother (rain showers from time to time but certainly better than the forecast). We ended up in The Ramblers Retreat - a fabulous homely place with excellent pies, Staffordshire oatcake pizzas, salads, roasts and amazing crumbles and puddings.

Dimmingsdale is on the other side of the River Churnet from Alton Towers. It's beautiful unspoilt woodland (a little over plagued with Himalayan Balsam) which is on part of the Staffordshire Way. It's popular with walkers but today it was practically deserted. Small pools, black swans, views as you emerge from the trees and the beginnings of the autumn colours : there was quite a lot to choose from.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.