Sleepy Cherryblossom

By CherryBee

Untamo.

This is my brand new (one week exactly) utterly gorgeous almost nephew! His mum is one of my closest, oldest friends and an only child so I've long been surrogate sister. And as his big sister Aarni's Godmother I claim Aunty status ;)

His name is Untamo (pronounced oon-tamo) which is Finnish, but I'll most likely be calling him 'Tam', which is Scottish! So far his interests include sleeping, more sleeping and then some more sleeping. He doesn't mind where.

Aarni is delighted with him and calls him 'fox-brother', we're not sure why, maybe he has a foxy look about him! He definitely looks much more like his mum who is half Egyptian, wee blond Aarni is so taking after her Scandanavian dad and at 2 years old speaks English with Lorraine and Finnish with Uula which I just find totally fascinating, she doesn't get mixed up at all although she has just started talking in the third person - 'Aarni want huggies', 'Aarni like', 'Aarni NOT like'.
She's adorable :)
I bought her a new book for her birthday (you really only get books from Aunty Bee!) and we totally bonded over The Further Adventures Of The Owl And The Pussycat. Start to finish 4 times.

I feared that I may have been un-godmothered because I've been really rubbish and not been around much in the last couple of years - and very nearly didn't make it there today because I've been so unwell - but I so wanted to see them all before I disappear off up north again and thankfully made it through to Glasgow this afternoon. It was definitely worth it and I wont be leaving it so long again, after all, they're family :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.