Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

A Helping Hand

My RNLI membership renewal came in yesterday and was completed over breakfast this morning before being being posted off in Campbeltown. Having a small boat and living in a fishing village, the RNLI is a charity close to my heart and I greatly admire all the work their volunteers do.

Started off grey and cloudy this morning but the sun started to break through as I walked down Campbeltown Quay in search of a blip. There is something abut the local lifeboat that just fascinates me. Is it the bright colours or the solid shape and strength of the boat? I don't know, but it just begs to have a camera pointed at it and blipped. The blue rubber gloves that can be seen floating in most West Coast fishing ports annoy me intensely. The fishermen wear them as they process the prawns they catch and, if they are holed by their sharp crustacean shells they are simply discarded and thrown overboard.

A cry for help in more ways than one!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.