Never say die

Went for my last middle distance run before Loch Ness today. It was only a 10 miler, but I think it might have been the toughest 10 miles of my entire training plan.

When I started, I felt a wee flutter in my lungs. I don't quite know how to describe it, but I couldn't catch my breath. That passed, but after half a mile, I felt so sick. I felt bile rising up my throat and I started retching by the side of the road. I have never felt sick when running before, ever. I sat down for 10 minutes and contemplated what to do next.

The way I saw it I had 2 options, go home or carry on.

I decided to take it slowly and carry on. Never say die right? The feeling did pass, but my legs were heavy and the rest of the run was a struggle. The only thing keeping me going was Eric (my iPod) - not having changed my running playlist for the last 5 years, it feels like the songs are old friends helping me along. I took this shot around mile 7 - at least I had nice views!

Found this quote online and it pretty much sums it up:

Of course it's hard
It's supposed to be hard,
If it were easy
Everyone would do it.
Hard is what makes it great!


I've been feeling exhausted this week, so I reckon that's the cause. I've just got to look after myself this week. Plenty of rest, fruit, veg and vitamins should do the trick. I only have 3 short runs left to do before next Sunday so it'll be grand!

Today's run: 10 miles
September running mileage: 84 miles
2013 running mileage: 840 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.