Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cloistered

Well, that was FUN! Watched a humungous chameleon walk across the screen. Nature programmes are going to be amazing. Also watched a railway journey in NZ. Big TVs are made for travel programmes.

After I had got rid of a couple more household items via Gumtree this morning, I took another load of junk bric a brac to the charity shop. I then took a wee drive to look for a blip. I went up Blackford Hill. But the city is quite distant and the sky was bleh.

I stopped at a church I’ve often admired. It’s in really good condition, wonderful stonework and they had lovely railings all around the property. How did they keep them during the ‘war effort’? I walked round it. All the gates were locked, and I was about to give up, when an elderly lady passed me and pointed to the open gate. Inside was the loveliest wee cloistered area. It was so peaceful. Except for the kids YELLING on the trampoline in the next door garden.

I felt I had postponed the inevitable long enough, and rushed home to put the TV on. (It’s new-fangled - I’ll get over it).

No sound. Eeeek! What button to press? I now have dozens of remotes. Well, four. One of them you speak to! I eventually pressed a button and there was sound. I’m a bit scared of it at the moment. If it does something out of the ordinary I won’t know how to restore it.

I’ve just caught Tony Robinson on ‘A Walk Through History’. He was at Eilean Donan Castle and two programmes were about the Battle of Glen Shiel in 1719. Very interesting. And big.

Strictly and Downton Abbey will look splendid on the big screen.

But they won’t be on. Can’t stand ‘em, sorry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.