Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Good views and bad news

Today was the day that I decided to do something that in all my years in Edinburgh, I have never done before. No, not sign up for the Edinburgh Marathon. I climbed the Scott Monument, as you may have guessed already.

Yes, after my strenuous efforts the other day climbing the Crags, a day for my legs to recover, then up the 287 steps! I climbed up behind an elderly lady and a younger woman. The steps are very narrow and not easy to pass someone coming down, so I thought I'd be able to stick with them easily and clear folk out of the way who were coming down. No. They stomped up the first 100 or so steps without stopping! I had to stop and gasp a couple of times before I got to the first level.

The view was worth it, of course. But morning sun is right behind the iconic skyline, making photos to the south rather awkward. And there were no clouds to speak of, although I they came rolling in later in the day.

Out of the many shots, I chose this one of the castle, with a bit of Monument to prove I was up there. The dark stone is caused by the pollution over the centuries (Auld Reekie) and the lighter stone is where they've replaced the worn ones, so it does look a bit patchy. But still pretty spectacular. The Paralympics symbol is still up on the Mound, and the Gardens are looking splendid.

I came home from my triumph to find a letter from the Pension folk, telling me that they will generously fund my retirement on the 21 years I have worked in the UK - ie not the full state pension.

Hang on!!! I've worked 40 years!! There must be some mishtake.

I rang them to ask why, and they said that the International Pensions Centre (IPC) would be dealing with my NZ contributions, and would have received the same letter and would actioning it this week.

I rang them. No. No letter had come from the UK Pensions Dept. They know nothing about my NZ work history. According to them, I don't exist.

I was just about bawling (as in blubbing, not shouting. Well, both actually) down the phone saying I'd sent all that in, as requested, months and months ago. He is going to skip the bit where the UK Pension Dept ask the IPC to send the relevant form to me, which they haven't done, and he's going to send it to me himself.

Good! Another form to fill in!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.