Family Dog

By Family_Dog

Tiny 'tude

My poor kids. I honestly think if they hear the phrase 'when we move to the new house' one more time they might actually nut me.

While the rest of you were out with your families, cycling in the autumn sunshine and perusing your cookbooks for roasting possibilities - I took my children to...Carpetwise.

CARPETWISE, PEOPLE!

Expecting both kids to be off the scale hideous, I went in with a 'smash and grab' attitude. The old in-choose-buy-no need for niceties-out approach.

The down side to this approach is that I may have accidentally bought a black patent style floor for the kitchen. That's potentially a very expensive mistake.

Anyhoo, the kids - they were amazing. I only caught Arlo sliding between the huge rolls of carpet once - his legs dangling about in the air as his body slid between the giant rolls, like he was being wrung out on an old fashioned washing wringer.

Ida only sang her new 'Happy Birthday I Do a Poo On You' song once or twice and (apart from the patent floor) I'm fairly confident the 3 of us left everybody thinking we come from incredibly sophisticated stock.

As a reward for being non-horrendo, I took them to the park next to the carpet shop (I know, I'm pretty amazing going so out of my way, aren't I?) for an hour and then they got to spend some time with their Granny while I met Bry at the BLOODY HOUSE and painted more bloody things.

6 days till we move. It feels like there's no way this can be done....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.