Tree Art

I had some company on my weekly drive in the country today. My daughter Karen. She armed us with some sweet tea, we hit a couple of thrift stores...then off we went.

Unfortunately, we didn't see very much. 2 turkey vultures, and a couple of horses. Not enough for a good "Yee-ha!"

I dropped her off, and went out to get some more apples...taking the long route...away from the expressway.

I passed this tree stump on a dirt road. It always amazes me that a guy/girl can take a chainsaw or two, and come up with a carving like this. Plus...as tall as it is...some of the carving had to be done while balancing on a ladder, or perhaps some scaffolding. Regardless...some fine work.

Makes me want to grow out my beard...put on a red plaid flannel shirt...don a dark stocking cap...and maybe get a big blue ox named Babe. Then...I'd be ready to fire up the chain saw.

My only problem? Don't tell anybody...but my chain saw has to be accompanied by an extension cord, so I wouldn't be travelling far.

Somehow...I don't think Paul Bunyan would approve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.