Nicktor's news

By Nicktor

Welling v Shots

Mrs Nictor and I lived in Kent for a few years, and our boys were born there.

Besides that, it's never been particularly lucky for me in a footballing sense. I've been to see the Shots play at Gillingham several times, and I think the best I've seen was the 4-4 draw a few years ago.

Son number two and I went to our Cup match against Dover where we were embarrassed and humiliated (second time at Dover for me). We might have had some luck on one of occasions that I've been to Ebbsfleet, but on the whole it hasn't been a happy away trip for me, and the defeat in the FA Trophy still rankles.

I can't remember some of the other grounds that I've been to - there have been a few - but this was my first trip to Welling, and I really hope it was my last.

They obviously had a game plan for playing us, but it wasn't pretty. The grass was 4 inches long; the floodlights didn't work; they chose not to let the ball touch the ground all night, and all of their players were at least 6 foot 4 tall, and too physical for the cultured classy football that the Mighty Shots play.

This is Brett Wlliams getting the better of Blaine Hudson for just about the only time in the evening, and getting a good shot on goal which could have been the equaliser had we had the luck on our side. But tonight we didn't have the luck - and we certainly didn't have neutral officials.

But hey ho :-)




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.