Over the Horizon

By overthehorizon

Collage

My last day in Seattle. Filled with odds and ends and errands to take care of before I leave for the Islands where things will be harder to find. A haircut and run by the post office, finding a pair of work pants and picking up groceries for the farm.

Tomorrow I leave Seattle on a ferry through Puget Sound to the San Juan Islands right smack at the very North-Western most tip of the lower forty eight, separated by the cold water straights of Juan de Fuca from British Columbia Canada. I will be apprenticing on a working organic farm on San Juan Island, the largest of the archipelago. My chance to settle down somewhere for a couple weeks, see the islands more in depth, and most importantly learn some skills for one day getting my own farm going. Though I do love Seattle, I cannot wait for the countryside and fresh air, and for the sea. I've been hungering for these islands my whole trip up the coast...Saying farewell to the city I treated Luke and Holly to dinner. We decided on one of the many local brewpubs up in the Capital District. Cheers to Seattle!

Seems even the barber shops are hipster chic in this neighborhood. I snapped this shot waiting my turn. All sorts of kitsch, old indie rock posters, fashion magazine clippings and a vast collage of color framing the wall in between round portal like mirrors framing your reflection gazing back at you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.