if only........

I popped down to the docks today after work
the light was good
and the Tay was silvery and still, just the way I like it.
It's been a tough but quick week at work
and today I drove to Edinburgh to speak with someone
for a big case I've been dealing with since I took on this new role
and so when I found this written at the top
of a viewing platform overlooking the water
it resonated with me.

I'm lucky, I very rarely feel alone........mostly I long for a bit more alone time
as I'm so busy and surrounded at work and busy and surrounded out of work.
But nobody wants to feel what this person must have felt when they wrote this

I'm sorry that so many of my recent Friday blips are a bit morose.
I do love my job, but I'm finding the things that I'm told by people
about their lives difficult to deal with.
When I talk to them I tell them that they need to seek help, that they need to
let it all out.
I liken it to the swarm of flies that came out of that John Coffey's mouth in
the film The Green Mile; a poison that they have to purge themselves of.
The problem is that I feel as though I inhale a little bit of that every time someone else tells me their story and now I hold a small piece of everyone's poison.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.