The Days of our Lives

It's the 50th Anniversary of the University of East Anglia this year. I was an undergraduate there from 1988-92 and a postgraduate in 1993-94. I have such fond memories of those days. It was an open day today and they'd put lots of activities on for alumni visitors. We spent most the day on campus visiting my various old haunts - though strangely never set foot in the union bar which I probably spent more time in than anywhere else... There was a lot for kids to do too, and the girls had a ton of fun making crafts, dressing in gowns and mortar boards and doing an art trail in the Sainsbury Centre (an excellent gallery on campus that was designed by Sir Norman Foster). In the Education school, I met with one of my lecturers from the PGCE course: the chap who interviewed me and told me I would make a good teacher. It was great to see him again. I gave much to thank him for. The day quite literally ended with a bang, with the eruption of the 'Norfolk Volcano' - a project by vulcanologist UEA students. Actually it wasn't quite as impressive as billed, but perhaps that is because it was over half an hour late in erupting and by then the girls were tired, hungry, bored and cold. I love this photo of the three of them earlier this evening playing together on the grass in front of the university residences. Grace is determined she will go to UEA one day to study history just like her mum! 271/365 completed!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.