A concrete love affair

By PhotoIain

Twenty year old Vauxhall

A lovely on-street find parked up in the Leicester city centre sunshine this fine afternoon.

A late 93 or early 94 Vauxhall Carlton CDX! Would never have another Vauxhall myself after too many problems with my last one but still have much love for the older models like this one.

My Dad used to drive them when I was young, his second, 1993, Carlton company car was this very colour. I enjoyed the futuristic "jelly mould" styling and having arguments with my two best friends which was the best car; my Dad's Vauxhall or their Dad's VW and Volvo. Also used to enjoy the old Grundig radio trying to tune in 95.8 Capital FM in Leicestershire, quite often receivable too.

Funny how the sight of an old car can bring back so many memories. Do have a fondness for the time spent and the eras in my life driving them or being driven in them represented. In a weird way, somehow the day we stopped driving Vauxhall was the day we grew up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.