Spanish Inquisition ?

No just the hygienist....

A story too long and boring to tell, but I actually am terrified of dentists and all things dental. I even return to the surgery I went to as a child (obviously the staff have changed) and I'm still scared.

I went along for my regular appointment with my friendly hygienist and was horrified when I went through the door only to find a random man, wielding instruments of torture. I nearly ran away. But bravely I managed, promising myself a trip to the lovely parish church nearby after it was over.

St Oswald's Church in Ashbourne, Derbyshire, is beautiful (but it's a bit like a building site at the moment). And while I was there they were tuning torturing the organ. It was painful to the ears.

There are lovely sculptures - and magnificent Medieval glass panels. Five panels in particular date back to 1241, the consecration of the church. They were restored in 1991, and are currently mounted in a surround of Victorian grisaille glass, dating from 1879.

My choice of photo is the panel in which The Three Wise men meet King Herod.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.