Barton Marina

There is a Panoramic setting on my camera and I decided to have a little play when visiting Barton Marina.

I'd been there to an excellent lecture on the work of Antoni Gaudi. He was the one architect my late husband loved. I have marvellous memories of visiting Barcelona in the very early nineties and visiting all of the buildings - on public transport. This was way before the hop on hop off bus, and before there were dedicated tours.
We also went to the building not far from Santander - when the now fabulous restaurant was not open - and feeling like intruders as we wandered round a very deserted, very private place......

I remember La Sagrada Familia then - very few of the towers completed (there was only one finished when Gaudi was killed by a tram in 1925). There were no tourists to speak of - none of the modern queues and tourist trap stalls and pickpockets. The roof was not finished. It had an amazing atmosphere and magic.

I was bitterly disappointed when I went back more recently. (But I do acknowledge that the interior is spectacular, particularly when it was televised for the Pope's visit).....

Sometimes, though, less is more......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.