My Van Gogh moment

happened at lunchtime, four miles from Tamworth.

Today's weather has been fairly warm, but horridly overcast and at times, torrentially rainy. But just for about a fifteen minute period, we had glorious sunshine.

I'd been to Tamworth Marks and Spencer and on my way home, on a pure impulse, when I saw the sign pointing to Elford, I just drove off to find the Elford Hall Gardens. The photographic group had paid a visit there earlier in the year and had managed some artistic photos.

But nothing had prepared me for this paradise. It was deserted. I parked the car and just wandered, amazed. A very nice lady who was gardening spoke to me and reassured me that I wasn't trespassing. (She showed me where the donation box is and asked me if I wanted a coffee)

There is a spectacular walled garden with the most amazing roses in their second flourish. Vegetables, too - with some of the most enormous pumpkins ! A sensory garden, lots of dahlias - huge amounts of work have been undertaken with great love and it shows.

They are gearing up for a huge Bonfire party - on Saturday November 2nd, with the gates opening at 5. Scarecrow figures abound. There were lots of butterflies (peacocks, small tortoiseshells and ragged looking whites)

Blippers - this place is well worth a visit - and it's so close to those of us based in Lichfield or Tamworth.....

Elford Hall Gardens

My favourite white butterfly photo - ever

Small tortoiseshells on the buddleia

Super poppy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.