Day Off

Even though I was off I was up reasonably early. Old TV out to recycling and paper bill paid. Home and all internet banking/bill paying completed and new kitchen lampshade fitted before Clare got home, just before she arrived Western Greyhound phoned, "Mick we're really stuck tomorrow morning can you help us out with the 05:30 - 14:00 shift". I said I would and we shall come back to this later.
We left for the Tregenna Hotel and chatted like we haven't for a long time. On to a farmyard shop that I'd seen whilst driving where we stocked up for the week, on to Truro where my shoes went in for repair, Clare got a couple of books and we had a late lunch at the Hub.
On to Calenick Farm Butchery where again we stocked up for the week. We eventually arrive home, via Sainsbury's (filter coffee, and lottery) having had a great day in each other's company.

How quickly you can be brought down to earth, amongst the mail, one from Western Greyhound inviting me to a meeting on Monday where they wish to discuss my three month contract which as far as I was aware was due for review on December 1st. It would appear that as well as the out station closures, route closures, lack of buses and general run down of the company those of us on the three month contracts are going now. It's austerity time and I understand companies do what they have to survive but what really irks is the Friday Frightener.
Today's photo, I my experience, which I admit is limited, either British managers lack moral courage or the British management style is flawed. There is this practise of sending out bad news, the Friday Frightener, so as to arrive on a Friday whilst the recipient is at work. Nothing is said to them whilst at work on the Friday so they are left to 'stew' over the week-end.
So now having agreed to ruin another week-end, through misguided loyalty, it has happened again that's twice in six months!!
It does illustrate why so many drivers are deserting Western Greyhound and Rowes continues to decline.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.