Misplaced snifter

I took my new old-style rangefinder lens for a walk today, and my feelings are mixed.

On one hand, it's not un-fun to use - manually focusing is not bad, and it's easy to get it right. Not much extra work. It's also optically excellent, as far as I can tell - loads of resolution, great contrast, and good color.

On the other hand, my sensor really does not respond well to it. The center is excellent, and really delivers on what the lens can do. The corners are blurry and mushy at optimal aperture in bright sunlight - there is just nothing to be done.

So while it might be great for portraiture or something, it's not much use for the every day walkaround pictures I take most of the time. I may keep it, or I may sell it and replace it with a very similar 50mm by the same manufacturer, as longer focal lengths are rumored to work better in this setup. Of course, that would leave me with a perspective even more telephoto and less suitable for walkin' around...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.