Freedom

I was supposed to go for a run this morning, but I woke up with a monster cold and couldn't get out of bed. I really wanted to go for my first post-marathon run, but sometimes you have to listen to your body.

I did go out at midday for a special outing though; I got 4 new tattoos. 4 different flying birds on my back to symbolise my 4 marathons. This is the 4th one that was tattooed, so this one is Loch Ness. (It's incredibly difficult to take a full photo of your own back - so you only get one). There is also space to add more, when or if, I run more marathons.

Birds and running aren't immediately associated, so I'm going to attempt to explain my choice. There are a few reasons:

1. Running makes me feel like I'm free, nothing can touch me. The birds symbolise that freedom.

2. Martin Luthor King Jnr, a man synonymous with freedom, once said:

If you can't fly, then run
If you can't run, then walk
If you can't walk, then crawl
But whatever you do, keep moving


Anyone can run a marathon, everyone can do it if they want to. I couldn't even run at all 6 years ago, and now I've run 4 marathons. It's just a matter of hard work, dedication and determination. The secret is to keep moving both through the months of training and the actual race. If you can just keep moving, you can achieve anything (and no I'm not just talking about running anymore). It's one of life's most important lessons.

3. On another level, looking literally at the quote, I can't fly. I can run though, so that's what I do. Running has quite honestly transformed my life into something I'm proud of. I don't think I could say that 6 years ago. But now I'm happy, I don't have everything I want, but I'm happy with myself.

So I marked my achievements, quite literally, on my back. If things ever get tough, it's a permanent reminder that I can achieve anything.

Apologies for the existential musings, I must be feeling quite deep today!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.