Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Bonkers about conkers

Why are they such little objects of desire?

The tree around the park showed the signs of conker frenzy - discarded sticks and fallen branches everywhere, and there was not one of the precious things to be found.

Then I discovered a tree that had been overlooked - there were hundreds of the gems lying around, many still in their vicious spiky cases, I couldn't help but pick up a few.

Allegedly they deter spiders, but my mother once had a few conkers in a bowl by the hearth and one morning she found a spider sitting happily on top of them. I don't think anything keeps the 8 legged beasties away....

Thank you lovely people for sharing in my 200th Blip yesterday and also for sharing in the sadness at the news I found out just after I had posted it xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.