Footprints in Photos

By AnnaSpanner

Grandma

I went to see my grandma again today so we could break her out of the home for a few hours. She's not seen J for about a year so I took her to his coffee shop for a cuppa and a cake. Why do people of the previous generation worry about spoiling their lunch? Its an interesting concept that I've been thinking about since....

Anyway, I thought Grandma seemed a lot brighter this week, more mobile too. I first arrived and she was in a bit of a worry about not being able to find her glasses. Understandably she was quite concerned about locating such a vital thing and I think this was making it difficult to think about anything else. Once we'd found them (under the bed, for anyone who's still with me) we set about leaving. Grandma found her groove at getting in and out of the car, I was impressed! What I couldn't believe was that as we drove away from the home I noticed her become more and more like my 'proper' Grandma again. She knew it was Monday because she'd noted the bin collection going on, she was letting me know which way to go in the car to get there and was debating her future, weighing up the pro's and cons of where to live permanently. She was bright, sparky and really interesting. And yet, as I dropped her back it was like the hazy confusion started to mist back in. She took me upstairs and couldn't remember why, and I left a little concerned she might forget to go and have her lunch despite me saying it a lot in those last few minutes. On the whole a really positive morning though and I just wonder whether the environment she is staying in might be a mixed blessing. They take great care of her and there's no doubt she needs some support but I think because it is all so new and nothing belongs to her there she can't adapt and really let it sink in to give her that same confidence she would have in her own familiar place.

I've taken her photo for her blue badge application and tweaked it a bit so she is my blip today :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.