Life in a Northern Town

By kagsy

Windswept

Very chilly and blustery up on Longwood Edge this morning, the horses were very keen on the apples from my father-in-law's garden.

Their living conditions are vastly improved these days, and this chap even had a warm coat on; much of the junk is gone from their field and they had plenty of hay to eat.

Yesterday I was working at the laptop, minding my own business when there was a knock at the door. It was 2 policemen asking me if I had a daughter. That was a moment I don't want to repeat, ever. After a couple more questions we established that my daughter is not pregnant, with a boyfriend called Connor, and that they'd got the wrong house. There is another road in Huddersfield with the same name and I've had something similar happen before, a van load of policemen running down the drive to deal with a "disturbance", whilst I was quietly watching TV. Good job I'm on the wagon this month or the wine would've been out at 2pm!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.