Angelique

By Angelique

" WE'VE GOT ALL THE TIME IN THE WORLD "

Today Adrian came for a visit and I admit it was long overdue. He lives in the same care home as Matthew and unfortunately saw me take Matthew out for his week away with us recently and spoke. He doesn't say many words but said "I want to go away". So I realised he was jealous of the time I can spend with Matty but can't give to Adrian. I think he is very away of his own complexity but of course, doesn't stop him from missing us, his parents.

So today was a day for spoiling him a bit. He enjoyed his lunch which was a delicious piece of rump steak with a baked potato and green beans, followed by a delicous blackberry/apple crumble. Phoebe and I picked the blackberries on Thursday and the apples were provided by a wonderful old neighbour.

The above blip shows us playing his special dominoe game. The tiles are made large and very tactile. Apart from the obvious colours, there are shiny, cork, & hessian circles so very useful in capturing the attention of anyone who find it difficult to stay on target.

After this diversion, we went for a nice walk around the village, where Adrian proceeded to prune or weed the passing gardens/grass verges etc. By the end of the walk, his fingers were green, but at least he didn't try to eat any of the foliage. We played 'poo' sticks by the brook and he didn't try to cheat this time. We kept Phoebe well away from him as he doesn't like any animals near him and can get quite aggresive with them.

All too soon, he had to return for his tea but by then he was getting quite boisterous and trips to the toilet were every 5 minutes, so his concentration span was exhausted.

I had been watching him to see if I could see any signs of pain. He didn't show anything but it was noticeable that his colour was quite yellowish and he had a very short fuse. I think he is definately unwell and only a blood test now would show what it is. 22 years ago he had hepatitus and we didn't know what was wrong until his eyes went a horrible yellowish and other signs were not normal either.

Sorry I have had to write all this but it might help explain the above blip. It definately shows the extra weight I am carrying from our recent holiday in Cornwall and eating too many pasties. To think I used to be so slim. Oh well, at least Mr A now says I look more like a woman. Whatevery that means.

The rain is pouring down, I just hope we're getting it now and not tomorrow when I take Matthew out for his trip.

Sending love to you all. Appreciate what you have - sight, hearing, the ability to run, to speak, and most of all to show love to another human being.
Until we 'meet' again:))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.